Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Inside a "Reindeer Motor"

Blog Entries

Default Inside a "Reindeer Motor"

After seeing this, and actually video taping it my self, I feel kind of bad leaving the things that I do ON all the time... Poor Reindeer motor! I thought only toys did that noise!

[ame=http://s443.photobucket.com/albums/qq158/theedwin/Easter%2009/?action=view&current=Mar292009-VID00017.flv][/ame]

this was the "dead" reindeer motor that used to run the "over achieving chicken".

There was a stripped gear, thus it would not reverse anymore, but I didn't know that there were plastic gears (and several of them) in a reindeer motor! I always thought it was a nice strong motor running my "things".

It was a bitch to take apart, but I figured it out.

OK, here is the other video, but PLEASE turn your volume down as it sounds like I inhale helium for a living... (I have a high squeaky voice that I am not proud of!) (please don't judge me...LOL)

[ame=http://s443.photobucket.com/albums/qq158/theedwin/Easter%2009/?action=view&current=Mar292009-VID00016.flv][/ame]

And if you did listen to the video, the security guard was asking me if I could get his girlfriend into a movie for free....

I threw the whole motor away, but not the casing. I wish I could have re-taken the video with me talking in my "RADIO ANNOUNCER" voice.... LOL

E

Great vids, Edwin!

A couple tips with gears that may save a project later on...

Often if a gear is missing teeth, you can rotate the gear 180 deg and reinsert it. If the gear doesn't rotate 360, it is a quick fix.

If a gear slips on the metal axle it is supposed to be attached to, apply gel super glue and it will hold tight again. I had to do this on one of my Elmo mechs.

Still another cheap way is to replace the gear. Ebay has cheap gear packs which can be a project saver. Ie. http://cgi.ebay.com/Engineering-Plas...3%3A3|294%3A50

or you can salvage them from other thrift store toys.

I've done all the above. Just thought I'd share.